• Archives

  • Categories

  • Visitors

    • 2,355 hits

more cookin stuff

Greek Salad Pita Sandwiches:  another epicurious recipe I recently tried.  Another winner!  Some changes I made, I left the seeds in the tomatoes and the cucumber.  I left out the green bell pepper.  Used Italian Cheese mix instead of the feta (don’t care for feta).  And then I added the wonderful red pepper mayonnaise (in my last post).  These are very good.  I just kinda eyeballed the amounts to use because I was just making this for myself and not for a group.  I thought it was delicious and very satisfying.  I know it would be more healthy without the mayonnaise, but I really loved that darn mayonnaise!  I could see this being good with some hummus spread on too.  I thought this was a pretty filling pita, wasn’t sure how filling it would be without meat, but it was gooooooood.

The final new recipe that I’ve tried was Lemon Gnocchi with Spinach and Peas.  I really love Gnocchi, but I typically order them from a good take out restaurant in town.  This was the first time I’ve cooked with Gnocchi (even though I didn’t make the actual Gnocchi).  This recipe was quick and easy to make.  Didn’t take much in the way of skills to make this.  I think it was good, but not outstanding.  The Gnocchi were easy to cook and they tasted great.  I think the sauce just seemed rather bland to me.  I think if I were to make this again that I would add more garlic and maybe more of the red-pepper flakes.  Also some plain black pepper.  I think I want to try maybe a vodka cream sauce with gnocchi next.

If anyone has any recipes to recommend let me know!

Leave a Reply

