• Archives

  • Categories

  • Visitors

    • 2,355 hits

Cookin’ and Eatin’

Eating better is one of my goals for this year.  The past year included too much fast food and fried comfort foods.  It was definitely lacking in the fruits and veggies.  I’ve decided I need to expand my repertoire of recipes too.  When I want to find a new recipe to try I go to Epicurious.  I’ll either search by the type of dish I want or by the ingredient I want to use.  I usually go for a recipe that has a high rating and I’ll read through the comments for suggestions or changes to make.

This past week I made the Portobello burgers with Red Pepper Mayonnaise.  Absolutely delicious!  This recipe is a keeper.  The red pepper mayonnaise is divine and delicious on a variety of things.  I changed the recipe and used buns (cannot remember what they are called?), used no vinegar, and used my regular Hellman’s mayonnaise.  I also served with tomato and spinach on the sandwich.  Even my brother (a huge carnivore) loved these.  These will be made again and again and again!

With the burgers I made a three bean salad.  I adjusted the recipe to use parsley instead of cilantro and chili pepper instead of cumin (couldn’t find any in the store?) and I left out the black eyed peas.  This is a dish that benefits from being made ahead of time and letting the flavors marinate.  I really enjoyed the mixture of veggies in this, a very fresh and crisp dish.  I am not sure I enjoyed the seasonings in this.  I need to try to make it with the cumin and then decide.  I used the chili as it was a recommendation as a substitute for cumin on allrecipes.

One Response

  1. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

